Characters
Character List view preferences
See how Character List display settings change the way characters are grouped, sorted, and shown.
Use Display Settings in the Characters list to change how the list looks before you add or edit another character.
View Mode
How Character cards/tags appear visually on the screen.
- Card mode shows each character as a portrait image card.
- Summary mode shows a larger card view, which includes tagged details, stats, and the first few lines of your character’s summary description.
- List mode shows all characters in a table list. While in this view, Name, Label, Summary/Description, and their assigned tag Color picker are all editable within the table without having to click into individual profiles.
- Tag mode is the most compact view. All characters, including Micro characters, are viewed as small, colored tags in a condensed list.
Grouping
How characters are organized.
- Types groups characters by their Primary, Secondary, Minor, Group, or Micro designation.
- Groups organizes characters by your custom Group designations. Create a Group profile, and then tag characters (from Primary to Micro) into its member list. When viewing the Character portfolio in this Groups mode, characters will appear in rows dedicated to individual groups. A character can appear in more than one Group.
- All shows the characters in one cohesive list, without dividing them by Type or Group. Depending on View Mode, Micro characters might be in the cohesive list or in their own list at the bottom.
- Trash will show only the characters that have been deleted from your Character list. Characters can be recovered from here. Note: these trashed characters must be permanently deleted from within the trash folder in order to clear them from the subscription character limits.
Sort By
The order in which characters are listed.
- A-Z sorts alphabetically by their name.
- Label sorts by their designated label (alphabetically).
- Updated lists the most recently edited characters first.
- Custom lets you drag and drop characters into a preferred order. Click the Lock icon that appears beneath the toggle to unlock the custom sort ability, then click on the blue drag handles to drag and drop characters into your custom order. Once you drop a character into place, the order is saved. Click the Lock icon again to exit the custom sort drag ability.
If you want to return to adding a character, see Add a character to your story bible. If you want to edit one, see Edit a character. If you want to check how many character profiles your plan allows, see Character limits by plan.